Savory Split Pea Soup

Split pea soup has always been a classic to me, one my grand-mother would make. Thick and filling, I’ve always loved it. I always think to myself I’ll make some, and then never do. Until I made this recipe!

I wanted to make a split pea soup that would be really flavorful, but safe on all stages of The Eczema Diet and The Eczema Detox programs (as long as there isn’t any additional sensitivities).

Thus I used most flavor enhancers on the diet, including celery, leek, garlic and parsley. But one addition which I rarely used in salty recipes added depth to the flavor of the soup, and I name carob powder! The soup would still be good without it, but I highly recommend including it if you can!

Savory Split Pea Soup

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, nut-free, oil-free, low salicylate, The Eczema Diet-friendly

Print recipe

Serves 4
Prep Time 10 min
Cook Time 2 hr

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 carrot, peeled and chopped in small cubes (see note)
  • 3 celery stalks, finely chopped
  • 1 leek, finely chopped
  • 1/2 head green cabbage, finely chopped
  • 1 pound dry split peas (green or yellow), rinsed
  • 6 cups water
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp carob powder
  • salt to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Add a few tbsp of water to a large pot and place over medium heat. Add carrot, celery and leek and cook until soft.
  2. Add cabbage, split peas, water and garlic powder. Bring to a boil.
  3. Reduce heat, cover and let cook for 90 minutes stirring occasionally.
  4. Add parsley and carob powder and cook for another 30 minutes.
  5. Remove from heat and season with salt to taste.

NOTES

  • Skip the carrot if making the recipe on the FID program of The Eczema Detox, or if you are on a low salicylate diet.

Adapted from A very good split pea soup

About Charlie Rioux

http://sweetsaltyspicy.net/
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Beans/Legumes, Chilis/Stews/Soups, Entrées, Gluten-free, Low salicylate, Nut free, Oil free, Soups, Soy free, The Eczema Diet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment